Get to know me Tuesday- Carol Moyer

Standard

What mediums do you work in?
I love working with polymer clay on the days my hands will let me. I also love to crochet, again on days my hands will let me. I also love to draw and paint.

How long have you been creating?
My mom and I started doing ceramics when I was 6, and it blossomed from there.

Why do you do what you do?
I am a creative person. I am always thinking of new things to do. I do what I do so I can share the insanity in my head with the world.

How has your Art or Craft changed over time?

I really don’t think it has. I have always been dark, and I have always liked doing things that go quickly (another reason I don’t crochet much anymore). I think if anything has changed it would be me realizing that I can actually draw something other than a stick figure

What Art or Artist do you most identify with?
If I had to choose one it would be Van Gogh, his work is not quite fully abstract, but it’s close enough for me

What work do you enjoy doing the most?
I love to draw. I can sit and draw for hours. The part I dislike about drawing is I can’t stop with just the black and white pencil sketch. It has to be finished and that is often difficult for me.

What part do you NOT enjoy the most?
The part I dislike about drawing is I can’t stop with just the black and white pencil sketch. It has to be finished and that is often difficult for me.

Strongest memory of your childhood

Sitting in the kitchen with my mom while she cooked spaghetti. I had this stupid cow thing that I could bounce on and it would squeak. I was around 4. I can still smell the spaghetti.

What’s your favorite food?
My mom’s pot roast. I just wish she was still alive to cook it for me. I know how to cook it, and I am darn good at it, but it’s just not the same.

What’s your scariest moment?

The drive to the nursing home to say good bye to my mother for the last time. I had no idea what I would see and I was terrified.


What do you listen to or watch while creating?

Anything with Johnny Depp in it


What superpower would you have if you could?

That would be a toss up between teleportation and time travel. Nah, time travel for sure, that way I could go back in time and see my momma when I want to.

If you couldn’t do any type of Art or Craft what would you do for a living?

I am actually going to school for social work. I want to be a clinical therapist for juvenile delinquents housed in detention centers.

What makes you angry?
Religious intolerance makes me BEYOND angry! Child abuse and animal of any kind makes me BEYOND angry and violent.

What is your process when starting to create?
I don’t really have one, when the inspiration hits me to create, I just do it.

Who inspires you?
My children, I want them to see that they can do anything they want to do. A dear friend, Kelly, who shows the world that no matter what battle you are fighting, you can always express yourself with art. And most of all, my Momma. She never stopped fighting, even when she knew the cancer had her beat, she still fought like a warrior, all the way to the end.

Where or what do you get inspiration from?

I think it depends on the mood I am in at the time. Mostly, it comes from what I see around me.

Have you ever been shown in a public setting?

None of my art has been in a gallery, I just started this painting and art thing this year
however, I do have a book that has been published called Practical Magick for the Penny Pinching Witch that is available in the CreateSpace market place in either paperback or kindle.

What is your favorite book?

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein.

Who is your greatest influence?
My greatest influence would have to be my momma. She always taught me to go after whatever my heart desired and to never let anyone stand in the way of my dreams.

What is the greatest piece of advice given to you?

If you cannot love yourself, you cannot love anyone else.

What advice would you give an up and coming Artist?

Be who you are. If the world cannot accept you for who you are then you don’t need the world! Never, ever let anyone tell you that you are less than perfect. Never let anyone tell you that your art is less than perfect. As long you think it is perfect, then that is all that matters. If it’s your dream, YOU live it out the way YOU see fit!!!

Leave a comment